Text and Image, a hybrid | Part One

This is where I’m gonna take you.  We’re gonna learn Kung-Fu Photoshop together.

Like all things that seemingly don’t belong together, this is ohsogood.  The peanut butter and chocolate deliciousness, only in Photoshop. 🙂

Typography is great on its own, but the reason that we use Photoshop is well, to add some photographic goodness to our work.  This tutorial (well, this one and the couple to follow) will help you to explore the impact that text and visuals can have together.

First, you need to decide on a theme. It all starts with a word. When I designed this tutorial, I was thirsty, so I chose the word water. Who says you can’t be inspired by your everday life?

Start with a full sized canvas (to print on a standard 8.5×11 paper, or A4) at 8 x 10 inches, with 200 dpi (should be an overall size of 1600 x 2000 pixels).

Dependant on your word, choose an image to have show through your text. I google-searched for LARGE images so the resolution was adequate. If it’s not a large enough image, you will have pixelation.  Make sure that your text is smaller overall than your image. Or, if you are already photographically inclined, you can use one of your own images.

Now, I chose to rasterize my type layer.  You do this by right-clicking on the layer (will have the big letter “T” and the text you typed), and selecting “Rasterize Type” from the drop down menu.


Then, I dragged the rasterized type layer (entitled water) below my water image (Layer 1).

Clicking back to Layer 1, I changed the Layer Options to “Screen” (the drop down menu at the top of the layer palette).

Then, this happened!  Your canvas should look like this: your word in the texture or image that you chose.

Cool!  Now, that’s not enough for me.  I really wanted to drive the water concept home, so I decided to use a water brush that I had.  If I didn’t have a water droplet brush, I would search for one online or another image to screen on.  I overlayed the water design on top of my word.  Make sure to make a NEW LAYER before stamping your image.

Now, what on earth is this poster about?  I wanted to add a secondary text to talk about “water”.  And what came to mind?

Now, I wasn’t thrilled with the fact that you can’t see the “water water” on the lefthand side because the text was the same colour as the background.  You can double click on the text layer in the palette menu, and add an outer glow so that the text is readable.

And there you have it!  Your assignment.

ASSIGNMENT:

On an 8 x 10 (200dpi) canvas, make your text/image hybrid with the following elements: TITLE word, MAIN image, sub image or graphic element, and sub text.  I’m looking for cohesiveness in colour and design, and an adequate use of layer elements.

Due Wednesday, Oct 5.

